Star-fishing

Peru Trip 2011 206 (2)

Hello friends,
The story below is one I heard a few years ago, and I wanted to share it with you. Here goes:

“There was a young man walking down a deserted beach just before dawn. In the distance he saw a frail old woman. As he approached the old woman, he saw her picking up stranded starfish one by one and tossing them back into the sea.
The young man gazed in wonder as the old woman again and again threw the small starfish from the sand to the water. He asked, “Old woman, why do you spend so much energy doing what seems to be such a waste of time?”
The old woman explained that the stranded starfish would die if left in the morning sun.
“But there must be thousands of beaches and millions of starfish!” exclaimed the young man. “How can you possibly make any difference?”
The old woman looked down at the small starfish in her hand and as she threw it into the safety of the sea she said, “I made a difference to that one.””

This story has positively impacted how I view the world around me, and how I strive to make a difference. I call it star-fishing. What is going to make a difference to that one? Each and every child in need out there is its own starfish, beautiful and wonderful in his or her own way. Each child was put on this Earth for a purpose, God does not make mistakes. I feel called that it is our purpose here at Jake’s Diapers to help these babies in need, one cloth diaper, one baby, one orphanage or rescue center at a time. We are going to make a difference, and these small changes will add up to big, positive change. I feel so truly blessed by the outpouring of support, and I know we are changing the lives of babies in need, one cloth diaper at a time. I truly thank each and every one of you for your help in our mission. Together, we are making a difference! – Stephanie (aka Jake’s Mom)

One response to “Star-fishing

  1. Pingback: 7 Days of Celebration: Day One | Jake's Diapers for Peru·

Leave a comment